Installing Windows 8

After you’ve read my previous article on choosing the best OS, you may in fact be wondering how to install an OS and if you could do it. The answer to that is yes, all you have to do is follow the steps, and once its finished installing you’ll be wondering how you ever doubted yourself!

In this tutorial we will be going through the how to install Windows 8, as this is the latest version of Windows and one in which most users will be upgrading to.

 Some of the things that you’ll need for this tutorial are:

  • Valid Serial Number for Windows 8 Activation
  • Windows 8 Disc/Download (For Upgrade – Not Clean Install)
  • An Internet Connection or Optical Drive

Once you have obtained all of these things, please follow with the tutorial. This tutorial will go through how to install via disc (as that is the most common), but if you are wondering how to install online, windows has an assistant (for the first two/three steps) ready to download, and after three or four steps the tutorial will follow on.

Pre-Requisites:

  • Make sure your computer is fully backed up in the rare case of something failing.
  • Make sure you have all program serial numbers, as some have to be reinstalled
  • (Optional)De-activate/Uninstall your antivirus as it may interfere with the installation (it can be easily reinstalled later)
Windows 8 Install Disc
Windows 8 Installation DiscRef: http://www.gearlive.com

Installation

1. Insert the CD.

Once you have inserted your CD either wait for autoplay to popup or navigate to the CD via the Computer tab in the Start Menu. Open the CD to start the installation. It will then ask you for an Admin password or prompt you that it needs permission to start.

2. Type you Serial Number (Activation Code)

Before the installation has even begun you’ll be asked to insert your activation key. This is found inside the disc packaging. Once you have found it please type it in to continue your installation. You will then be prompted to download updates. This is recommended, you do want the latest installation files to speed up / make the process easier.

3. Read and Accept the Terms and Conditions

Although this may be extremely boring, please read through the terms and conditions even though many of us do not (and will never, myself included). But it is a legal requirement, and you must follow it.

Windows 8 Install Window
Windows InstallerRef: http://www.winsupersite.com

4. Choose your Installation Method

Although this is an upgrade, it gives you the choice of either doing keeping everything (only available windows 7, Vista and lower will delete programs), keeping personal files only or keeping nothing.

Note: No matter what method you choose, Windows will create a “Windows.old” folder on the C drive, which has a complete record of your files. Please do not rely on this though as sometimes it may or may not appear and some files may corrupt in the process.

 

5. Installation

Now is the time to have some fun while you wait for Windows 8 to install. The time to install varies depending on computers, but the average installation time takes between forty-five minutes to an hour and a half. Feel free to leave your computer during this process, nothing exciting is going to happen while it installs.

6. Personalisation

Here comes the fun part. Personalise your computer with various colours and themes. Once you have had you share of the ‘fun’ please continue to the next page, where you will create your user. You can either sign in with your Windows Live ID (hotmail, Xbox, etc.), create one on the spot, or simply sign in without one. Once you have completed this Windows will take a few minutes to initialise, don’t worry, its normal!

Note: Signing in with a Windows Live ID will mean your settings (not data) are stored in the cloud and can later be used to different computers with that same ID.

 

Windows 8 Metro Startup Screen
The New Windows LookRef: http://www.dotnetcurry.com

7. Windows 8 Is Installed. Enjoy

Beyond the settings in personalisation that you got to tinker with, there are many more in the control panel, a computer is hardly ‘optimised’ out of the box. Choose between power options, restore points schedule, display preferences and more.s

More to the point, get used to the Windows 8 interface and enjoy!

Any questions? Or not what you were looking for? More installation methods are coming, check back or feel free to leave a comment in the comments box below.

Tagged , ,

12 thoughts on “Installing Windows 8

  1. Gonzalo says:

    Greetings I am sso thrilled I found your web site, I really found yoou by mistake, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and woyld just lile to sayy cheers for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also adcded your RSS feeds, so when I hafe time I will bee
    backk to read a great deal more, Please doo keep up the great b.

  2. Authority says:

    You have nice blog, it was just hard to find., try out those plugins, better ranking in google so more traffic. – http://bit.ly/12CnlfZ and http://bit.ly/14AbDBH I use those with some of my wp blogs and I saw difference under week 🙂

    • marianil says:

      Hi. I’ve been trying to do subtle things to increase my search ranking, but so far nothing has fixed this problem. I am unable to install any plugins into my wordpress website because of the fact that it is hosted by WordPress, I do not host it myself. Thanks for you’re links though, they are the first ill go to if in fact I move over to a self-hosted website.

  3. Bitly says:

    You have nice blog, it just hard to find (at least my search) You should try one of this plugins: http://bit.ly/17x2SrU and/or http://bit.ly/14AbDBH I use those in all my wp blogs and I am happy with those. Both will get you better rankings in google with minimal amount of work.

    • marianil says:

      Hello. Thanks for picking out that it was hard to find. When doing searches I myself could not find my site so I was unsure where people were coming from without looking at my statistics. I’m actually unsure how to use plugins without self-hosting my blog, so any help would be appreciated. O e day I may well go to self hosted but I will stay with a free account for now.

  4. Boyce says:

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I
    acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  5. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i’m glad to convey that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I such a lot indubitably will make certain to do not disregard this website and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

    • marianil says:

      Hi. Sorry I have not been updating the content of the blog as frequently as I would have hoped. I will continue to update this website as the time prevails, hopefully sometime in the very near future. I am glad that you enjoyed the post. If there is anything that you would like me to add please dont hesitate to reply and request an article.

  6. dsvs-sote.de says:

    Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article. Many thanks for providing these details.

    • marianil says:

      Thats quite all right! I like for people to enjoy my articles and certainly hope that you come back in the future. As stated before, if you have any articles that you would like written, I’ll write them as soon as time allows.

  7. Ervin says:

    It is yet unknown how Apple will battle it’s resurfacing competition from Microsoft, but one thing is most assuredly something patrons can count on: Apple’s bright light is far from burning out and it is sure to be a brand name staple for
    years to come. There are other newer features which Windows users have become accustom to such as the use of a ribbon much like those seen on Windows
    Office Suite. The Windows Explorer system tool is one
    of the most frequently used tools within a Windows Operating System by most users.
    Realising this, Microsoft shipped out Vista with
    dirt cheap, minimal spec hardware which, although had enough juice to
    get Vista up and running, as soon as you started using the
    hardware you now found yourself at crawling speed – just
    enough was not good enough. As for the biggest news, it’s the 800 pound gorilla that’s in the room, but not physically, Apple and Apple TV,
    will it be announced or not. Portable technology was often
    late in coming to MS, and when it did the user interface was nothing to write home about.
    How to Access Shared Files from Home – Group:. Microsoft is
    striving to reduce the memory footprint of Windows 8, saying that RAM usage represents a ‘key engineering tenet’ of the new OS.

    Want to enjoy touch feature. Along with scaling operating system, Windows team is ready to give new browsing
    experience with Internet Explorer 10 supported with HTML5 that
    is expected to go in sync with the Metro style app feature including the Start screen, charms,
    snap, and more. When Microsoft released Windows 7 in July of 2009
    nearly 3 years after the release of Vista most business
    owners still found themselves running on an XP platform.
    With this OS you will be able to make cloud applications appear as if you have installed and running it locally.
    There are absolutely no settings. If you want to name a new group, right-click the Minus (-)
    button on the lower right corner of the screen and you
    will see a zoom-out view of the screen showing different
    groups. This will bring the pieces of individual files together and reduce the loading time.
    Whenever you need to take care of a few simple tasks, morph it into a tablet.
    Although Windows 7 has done exceptionally well since its release,
    Microsoft has been constantly working to make the next version of Windows a
    better one by further improving upon the existing features,
    and have added new impressive Windows 8 features along with an impressive
    user interface. If the CPU is 128 bit and the OS is 128 bit, then processing will be 4 times faster than 32 bit operations; or at least
    process 4 32 bit instructions at one time as opposed to 1 32 bit instruction at a time.

    You will tie this to your Windows Live login account and
    use that when logging into the system. Thank goodness, Windows 8 is the
    most secure Windows operating system released to-date.
    The page was plain and simply asked if I wanted to get updates now or
    not, but I was still surprised. If you are still irresolute
    whether to update your system to Windows 7, Windows 8 is
    another alternative option for you. Since I do quite a bit of
    research and reading to help me compose accurate articles as
    well as search out new technology for my own pleasure, I expect a smooth experience
    that allows me to easily open several tabs and Explorer windows.
    Microsoft isn’t saying, but from reading the fine print on its site, it’s pretty clear that what will happen is that users that wish to do so,
    will be able to download Kinect software onto their computer, in which case, it would
    replace the XBox. The only thing that is considered is your Windows 7 computer will be able to straightaway upgrade to Windows 8 without trouble in any way.

    • marianil says:

      Hi.

      Sorry that I did not respond to your comment earlier, it was sent to my spam, which is something that I seldom check because of its hassle to navigate to. I would like to congratulate you for writing such a quality comment.

      I love that you have taken the time to respond to the post. I agree with you that Windows has stepped up and made the Windows experience that much better, but perhaps you should read my article about the Pros and Cons of Windows 8. It covers most of what you wrote above as well as some more specific features. I also follow your reasoning behind Windows Vista, but I believe that several years after it was released, it actually became a formidable operating system, as much as you believe it not to be.

      I also agree with you that Windows 8 is undoubtedly the most secure Windows Operating System ever.

      I can’t wait until Windows 8.1, I will soon be writing an article about it once more information is released.

      Thanks for your time to write a quality comment. Perhaps you would like to read some of my other articles?

If you liked this post, why not leave a reply?